Old City Jerusalem


Alley in Jewish Quarter

Jerusalem - View of the Old city

View of the Old City

Old-city-Jerusalen-Horva Synagogue

Hurva Synagogue


Old City Jerusalem

This term refers to Jerusalem within the old walls, as distinct from the new city which began to develop in the second half of the 19th century.

The Old City is divided into 4 quarters: Jewish, Armenian, Moslem and Christian.

Jewish Quarter is located in the southeast part of city, near the Western Wall. In the past, this was the center of Jewish life in Jerusalem. During the War of Independence it was encircled and besieged, and captured after bitter fighting when the defenders were taken prisoner.

Armenian Quarter is located in the southwest part of the Old City. Populated mainly by Armenians, it contains the community’s churches, religious and educational institutions, and pilgrim hospices.

Moslem Quarter is located in the northeast part of the Old City, is the largest of the quarters and is the financial and commercial center of the Old City.

Christian Quarter is located in the northwest, contains the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, religious institutions of various Christian denominations, many churches and pilgrim hospices.

The Gates: The Old City walls were built by Suleiman the Magnificent, and have a total of eleven gates. Until 1887, the gates were closed at sunset and opened again at sunrise. The Gates are: Jaffa Gate; Herod’s (Flowers) Gate; Damascus Gate; New Gate; Zion Gate; Dung Gate; Lions’ Gate; Triple Gate (Hulda Gate); Double Gate; Single Gate; and Golden (Mercy) Gate. According to Jewish tradition, the Messiah will enter Jerusalem through this gate.

Comments are closed.


Website: http://carta-jerusalem.com
Email: support@carta-jerusalem.com